Today I was working with WDS on Server 2012 R2. I had created my Boot Image and a default Install Image of Windows 7 Professional. I had to inject the network drivers into the original boot image in order to get it to boot of PXE successfully. Once that was done I was able to push a default install image to a laptop. I installed only the network driver so I could install Windows Updates on that image. Once all updates were installed I sysprepped the machine with the OOBE Generalize option. When I tried to boot to the capture image at first I got a brief flash of the Windows Logo and then it went to a black screen with a cursor. After a while of sitting there with no message I figured that it must be an issue with the network driver on the capture image. So I injected the proper network driver through the WDS Console and tried again. This time I got a windows startup error screen with the following message

“Windows failed to start.  A recent software change might be the cause.  To fix the problem:”.

The main thing of note here is that it states

“File \windows\system32\boot\winload.exe status 0xc000000f The application or operating system couldn’t be loaded because a required file is missing or contains errors.”

After doing some research on this issue I found the following as a solution

  1. Mount the WIM file with the command
    1. dism /mount-wim /wimfile:D:\TheLocationOfMyWimFile /mountdir:D:\ANewFolderICreatedForTemporaryLocation /index:1
  2. Unmount the WIM file and commit the changes even though I didn’t make any
    1. dsim /unmount-wim /mountdir:D:\ANewFolderICreatedForTemporaryLocation /commit
  3. Open back up the WDS Console and click on my “Boot Images” folder
  4. Right click on my Capture Image and choose “Replace Image”

 

Once all that was done I was able to successfully capture an Image

 

